While the Manchester United squad were dancing on an open-top bus in front of 100,000 supporters, David Moyes addressed the Cambridge University Union on Monday night in one of his first public appearances since being unveiled as the successor to Sir Alex Ferguson.

Moyes was asked a series of questions that offer a fascinating insight into his vision for United’s academy, his philosophy of football and his ambition for his time at Old Trafford.

He describes Wayne Rooney as an ‘outstanding talent’, insists that longevity is the secret to success, and demands retrospective action to punish cheats that dive in the game.

Here are his words..

 
 
Speech: David Moyes arrives at Cambridge Union on Monday night for his talk

Speech: David Moyes arrives at Cambridge Union on Monday night for his talk

 
Wise words: Moyes spoke about his move to Manchester United, Wayne Rooney, diving and a lot more

Wise words: Moyes spoke about his move to Manchester United, Wayne Rooney, diving and a lot more

 

 
 
David Moyes
David Moyes
 

Chosen one: Moyes will take over from Sir Alex Ferguson at Manchester United next season

 
Meanwhile: United were enjoying an open-top bus title parade in Manchester on Monday

Meanwhile: United were enjoying an open-top bus title parade in Manchester on Monday

 
Delight: The team arrived at Albert Square at around 8pm where the parade concluded

Delight: The team arrived at Albert Square at around 8pm where the parade concluded

On walking into Everton

‘They teach you a lot of things on these coaching courses but they don’t tell you what to do when you stroll into a dressing room to see Paul Gascoigne, Duncan Ferguson and David Ginola waiting for you as I did when I took over at Everton in 2002. And I’m thinking “Oh no! What am I going to say? – They probably don’t even know who I am”. It was tough but we worked hard and I had support from an excellent team of staff.’

On dealing with Paul Gascoigne on his first day

‘Paul Gascoigne was crying, in tears, when I walked in. And I am thinking “What am I supposed to do here?” I joined when Paul was about to sign for Burnley. I had just left Preston and they were set to play Burnley in their next game but I couldn’t let my old team Preston play against Paul Gascoigne – could you imagine?’

 
Tough crowd: Moyes took over at Everton with Paul Gascoigne (above) and David Ginola (below) at the club

Tough crowd: Moyes took over at Everton with Paul Gascoigne (above) and David Ginola (below) at the club

 

 
Tough crowd: Moyes took over at Everton with Paul Gascoigne (above) and David Ginola (below) at the club

‘The fans would have gone mad! I managed to delay the move just long enough but it was a real carry on! Paul was a great guy, everyone in the game is trying to help him and I’m glad to hear he is doing better now.’

On Wayne Rooney

‘When we sold him at Everton, Wayne was an outstanding talent and a really good player. We would watch him in training and say “Wow, did he really just do that?” You could see the staff looking across at each other shaking their heads in disbelief. He was football mad – heading the ball and volleying the ball here, there and everywhere. He was just a really good 16-year-old footballer.

‘He would just leave the training ground and play football with his pals on the street and think nothing of it. A lot of people use the term “street footballers” and I think Wayne was the last of the street footballers, hitting the balls off the wall, playing with his mates. Part of that culture has gone from football. He reminded me of my days growing up in Glasgow where you would be playing on the streets but I do think he was the last of those great street players.’

 
Departing star: Rooney was sold to Manchester United in 2004

Departing star: Rooney was sold to Manchester United in 2004

On whether Rooney has fulfilled his potential or stagnated…

(Laughs) ‘I don’t watch all the Manchester United games! I have had my own job. But I do see international games and you are talking about one of the best players in the world. If you are an England supporter, you are thinking what a great player you have. If you are from Scotland, you’re saying ‘Oh no!’ – but he is a brilliant player. He has had a very good career.’

On whether his experience of inheriting Paul Gascoigne at Everton has prepared him for taking on Wayne Rooney

‘I hope that I may have matured a little bit myself since I was dealing with Paul Gascoigne and that I will be able to deal with that kind of situation a bit better. It’s great working with the big players but I can’t answer your question fully – I couldn’t quite hear the end of your question (laughs). Like Arsene Wenger would say – “I didn’t see it!”’

 
Not bad: Rooney has won five Premier Leagues and a Champions League at Manchester United

Not bad: Rooney has won five Premier Leagues and a Champions League at Manchester United

 
Problems: Rooney was left out of United's game against Swansea after requesting a transfer

Problems: Rooney was left out of United’s game against Swansea after requesting a transfer although he took part in the on-pitch celebrations after. He was also subdued on the bus during Monday’s title parade (below)

 

